Elements of Catholic Health Care

The Ethical and Religious Directives have been refined through an extensive process of consultation with bishops, theologians, sponsors, administrators, physicians and other health care providers.

There is no one characteristic, but a combination of characteristics that constitute what it means to be Catholic Health Care. In 2000, the Catholic Health Association, after consultation with health care providers throughout the country, defined seven Constitutive Elements of Catholic Identity:

  1. Promote and Defend Human Dignity
  2. Attend to the Whole Person
  3. Care for the Poor and Vulnerable Persons
  4. Promote the Common Good
  5. Act on Behalf of Justice
  6. Steward Resources
  7. Act in Communion with the Church
Call 877-RES-INFO for Nurse Advice, Doctor Referrals or Class Registration Monday - Friday 8 am to 8 pm • Weekends 8 am to 4pm

Special Features

  • We need your voice!

    Our legislators are tackling issues that impact on our ability to live our mission. Learn more »